Making snacks: Breakfast Bars

I can’t remember the last time I skipped breakfast. It’s definitely my favourite meal of the day. I know it can be hard to fit in a meal on hectic mornings; the trick is to always be prepared.

I usually make a batch of muffins or breakfast bars and eat them throughout the week.  My muffins/bars are always packed with fibre, protein and healthy fats, so I won’t be starving by lunch time.

And honestly, it really isn’t so bad eating the same thing every morning, I actually enjoy it.

I usually bake when I’m frustrated with writing and/or editing and need to release some stress. Here’s the latest creation I came up with- a free styled version of GORP bars.

diygorp

Ingredients:

Dry Ingredients
2 C Quick Oats
1/2 C Protein powder (I used organic unsweetened vanilla brown rice protein)
1/4 C each Pumpkin seeds, sunflower seeds, hemp seeds, unsweetened shredded coconut
1/4 C Powdered peanut butter (you could probably use regular PB too)
1 Tbsp Cacao powder
1 Tsp Ground cinnamon
1 Tsp Freshly grated ginger
Dash of sea salt

Wet Ingredients
2 Tbsp Flax seed + 6 Tbsp water
1 large Apple, grated.
1/4 C Honey, melted.
1 Tbsp Coconut oil, melted.
1 Tsp Vanilla extract

Directions:

-Preheat oven to 325 degrees.
-Line a 8×8″ pan with parchment paper.
-In a small bowl, add ground flax seeds and water. Stir and let sit for at least 10 mins.
-In a medium size bowl, mix all dry ingredients. Set aside.
-In a small microwaveable dish, add honey, coconut oil and vanilla. Microwave on medium for 25-35 seconds, or until completely melted.
-In a small bowl, mix together melted honey mixture, grated apple, and the flax seed/water mixture.
-Pour wet ingredients into the dry ingredients. Mix well.
-Spoon bater into baking dish, flattening it down with a spatula or fork.
-Bake for 20-22 minutes.
-Cut into 8 bars and allow them to cool down for at least an hour.
-Store in an air tight container for 4-5 days, or in the freezer for an extended period of time.

balancedgorp

These tasty bars are pretty filling, but you can try them topped with some peanut butter or with a side of fruit.

Enjoy!

One thought on “Making snacks: Breakfast Bars

Leave a comment