My Favourite Natural Health & Beauty Products

These are the health and beauty products I’ve been using a lot recently. None of these are new, but they’re products I’d definitely recommend for everyone and anyone to try.

My first fave is both a health and a beauty product- Nutiva’s Organic Virgin Coconut Oil.

I’m obsessed with this stuff, perhaps, because coconut is one of my favourite flavours. I pretty much only use coconut and occasionally, olive oil for cooking and baking. I really like using it in place of butter in muffins to add moistness and some great flavour. I also recommend trying sautéed kale and/or spinach with coconut oil, onions, and some garlic-delicious!

I use coconut oil as a body moisturizer. I find that it’s the only product that can actually keep my dry skin feeling hydrated. Caution-when using coconut oil as a moisturizer, less is more. I’ve also read that it can be used as a hair masque, but I’ve yet to give that a try.

Coconut oil has many health benefits that I wasn’t aware of until I did some research.  Coconut oil has anti-oxidants, has been linked to weight maintenance and body-fat reduction, and research has shown that it can reduce bad cholesterol. It is higher in saturated fat than other oils/fats, but I would much rather consume saturated fat than hydrogenated fats which the body has difficulty processing/digesting.

You can find coconut oil at any health food store, and I’ve started seeing it pop up at places like Superstore. I recently bought a giant tub from Costco and have been filling up my little jar from it. It was a way better deal for the jumbo tub, but I would suggest trying a small one first. Also, make sure to buy organic virgin/extra virgin and hexane-free coconut oil!

image via http://well.ca

image via http://well.ca

For the last couple of years I’ve been trying to ween myself off coffee. My foggy brain in the morning, and my taste buds love coffee, my stomach does not. I’ve tired replacing coffee with green tea, but I found as I consume less coffee/caffeine, even green tea gives me a stomach ache and the jitters.

After some research, I decided to give Yerba Mate another try. I tried it many years ago and didn’t like the taste. I opted to buy the original version, not any of the gross flavours I previously tried, and it’s really good. It’s comparable to the taste of green tea, quite earthy.

You can find mate at various places in Winnipeg. I usually buy mine at either Organza or Vita Health.

I saved the best product for last. Dr. Bronner’s Magic Soap and I have been in a committed relationship for nearly five years. I first discovered this magical product when I was working at American Apparel. It was one of the random multi-brand products we sold. This stuff is seriously the best body wash you’ll ever discover. You only need a couple drops and it lathers like crazy. A 32oz bottle lasted me a full year!! But wait there’s more… Dr. Bronner’s is made from organic oils (coconut, olive, hemp, jojoba), Fair Trade, not tested on animals, and has 18 uses. Apparently, you can even use Dr. Bronner’s Magic Soap as toothpaste. I’ve yet to give that one a try. And if you’re bored in the shower, the bottle is covered in some interesting propaganda for your entertainment pleasure.

As I said before, you can find Dr. Bronner’s at American Apparel, or Organic Planet, Vita Health and Organza.

One thought on “My Favourite Natural Health & Beauty Products

Leave a comment